top of page

Letter to Governor Hogan Regarding Clinical Training Funds

May 6, 2022

The Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr

Governor of the State of Maryland

100 State Circle

Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Governor Hogan:

We are deeply concerned to read in The Washington Post that you are considering not

releasing the $3.5 Million dollars fenced off in the budget for the Abortion Care Clinical Training Program. You have committed to treating reproductive rights as "settled law" in Maryland, and yet in the face of grave threats, you appear to be failing to protect these rights for Marylanders.

Our nation is facing the largest reproductive health crisis in our lifetime. From the recently

revealed draft decision in the Dobbs v. Jackson Women’s Health Organization, we know with

near certainty that the Supreme Court will overturn the protection of abortion rights under Roe v. Wade. As a consequence, over 35 million women, which is almost half the women of

reproductive age in the United States, will lose the right to make their own decisions about

pregnancy. Twenty-six states are poised to implement abortion bans almost immediately

following the Dobbs decision.

Maryland has a responsibility to ensure access to abortion care for individuals seeking this basic

health care service in our state. If we do not rise to the challenge, many women will be forced to

carry pregnancies to term or seek abortion care outside of the health care system. This situation

is untenable and disproportionately impacts women from Black and brown communities, rural

areas, and low-income families.

During the 2022 session, the Maryland General Assembly had the foresight to enact House Bill

937 – Abortion Care Access Act to increase access to abortion care in Maryland. The bill

establishes a comprehensive strategy to increase the number and diversity of abortion care

providers and reduce financial barriers for Marylanders seeking care.

One of the most critical components of the Abortion Care Access Act is the Abortion Care

Clinical Training Program. The bill requires an annual appropriation starting in fiscal 2024. The Maryland General Assembly set aside $3.5 million in the fiscal 2023 budget in case the Program needed to be started sooner. Given the dire development in the Dobbs case, we

respectfully request you make an immediate decision to release the $3.5 in fiscal 2023

funds for the Abortion Care Clinical Training Program.

Within several months if not weeks, we may be one of the few safe states within reach for

women as far away as Ohio. This influx of patients will result in significant delays and barriers to care for Marylanders. We cannot desert any woman, whether from Maryland or other states, who needs abortion care services. Please release the funds for the Clinical Training Program



Signed jointly by the following legislators:

Delegate Gabriel Acevero Chairman Vanessa Atterbeary Delegate Heather Bagnall Chairman Ben Barnes Delegate Darryl Barnes Delegate Sandy Bartlett Chairman Kumar Barve Senator Pam Beidle Delegate Lisa Belcastro Delegate Regina Boyce Delegate Ben Brooks Delegate Jon Cardin Delegate Al Carr Delegate Lorig Charkoudian Chairman Luke Clippinger Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield Delegate Bonnie Cullison Senator Sarah Elfreth Vice Chair Brian Feldman Delegate Jessica Feldmark Delegate Wanika Fisher Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison Delegate Linda Foley Delegate Cathi Forbes Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo Delegate Michelle Guyton Chairman Guy Guzzone

Delegate Faye Martin Howell

Senator Shelly Hettleman

Delegate Terri Hill

Delegate Julian Ivey

Delegate Dana Jones

Vice Chair Cheryl Kagan

Delegate Anne Kaiser

Chairman Delores Kelley

Vice Chair Ariana Kelly

Delegate Ken Kerr

Senator Nancy King

Senator Kathy Klausmeier

Delegate Marc Korman

Senator Ben Kramer

Senator Clarence Lam

Senator Susan Lee

Delegate Mary Lehman

Delegate Jazz Lewis

Delegate Robbyn Lewis

Delegate Karen Lewis-Young

Delegate Brooke Lierman

Delegate Lesley Lopez

Delegate Sara Love

Majority Leader Eric Luedtke

Delegate Maggie McIntosh

Delegate David Moon

Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr

Delegate Edith Patterson

Chairman Joseline Pena-Melnyk

Delegate Shane Pendergrass

Chairman Paul Pinsky

Delegate Roxanne Prettyman

Delegate Susie Proctor

Delegate Lily Qi

Delegate Kirill Reznik

Delegate Mike Rogers

Delegate Sandy Rosenberg

Delegate Sheila Ruth

Delegate Emily Shetty

Chairman Will Smith

Delegate Stephanie Smith

Delegate Jared Solomon

Vice Chair Dana Stein

Delegate Vaughn Stewart

Delegate Jen Terrasa

Delegate Kris Valderrama

Vice Chair Jeff Waldstreicher

Senator Mary Washington

Vice Chair Alonzo Washington

Delegate Courtney Watson

Delegate Melissa Wells

Parliamentarian Jheanelle Wilkins

Delegate Nicole Williams

Delegate Pat Young

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page